How many schools to apply to?

Hi! I'm an undergrad student and in my senior year of college. I'll be applying to graduate schools in the fall, and I was wondering how many I should apply to? I have 8 on my list, but that can get expensive with application costs. However, it's hard to get into grad programs so I want to make sure I have options and multiple opportunities. What do you all think?

I applied to 10...I did that much just to calm my nerves lol. But most people in my undergrad class applied to somewhere between 6-10. If you can afford it, then apply to as many as you like to increase your chances. I got into multiple schools, so I didn't NEED to apply to 10...but you never know what is going to happen! 

Just make sure that every school you apply to you'd want to go there. Obviously there's schools you'll like better than others, but your "last choice" could be the only one you get into, so make sure you'd still be happy there!

@Gabby Well, I'd say it comes down to your budget. I have a friend with unlimited funds and a lot of spare time, so, he applied to 30 schools (amazing what you can do when you don't have to work while in school) and had several to choose from when April 15 rolled around. For me, that wan't the case, so I limited myself to 6, since that's all i could afford to apply to. Big advantage of being selective - I really got to know those six departments, was excited about each, and had time to invest in relationships with them. Whatever you decide, good luck.

The stronger your qualifications, the fewer schools you can get away with applying to. If you've got high GPA and GRE scores, 8 may be plenty. If you've got a relatively weaker GPA and/or GRE scores, you're better off adding more.