Help! My chances for SLP grad school?

Hello everyone!

I was wondering if you could help me get a better understanding of my chances of getting into a grad program for SLP and if there is anything you think I can do to boost my chances before I apply this coming year. I graduated with an undergraduate degree in psychology with a 3.71 overall GPA and a major GPA of 3.74. I then completed a prerequisite program so I currently have a 4.0 from the 8 SLP courses I took. I played volleyball for 4 years in college, worked at a residential mental health care facility for kids, and have a little volunteer experience. My GRE scores might be a little low with a verbal score of 153, quantitative reasoning score of 148, and my analytical writing score of 4. I think what hurts me the most is my lack of research experience or experience in the field. Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated!!! :)

The sport has little to no impact on your application. Your writing score is a little low. The lack of experience and research is somewhat problematic, but not unusually so. Overall, your portfolio sounds reasonable. Ask your advisor; perhaps there is some work you can do now to bolster your portfolio. Good luck. 

On 7/2/2016 at 4:51 AM, Apogeee said:

The sport has little to no impact on your application. Your writing score is a little low. The lack of experience and research is somewhat problematic, but not unusually so. Overall, your portfolio sounds reasonable. Ask your advisor; perhaps there is some work you can do now to bolster your portfolio. Good luck. 

Unfortunately because of my situation I do not have an advisor, which makes things a little more difficult. However, I will continue to look for work experience that might be helpful. I mostly just wanted to hear that I had a chance of getting in somewhere, so I'm glad my portfolio is at least reasonable so far. Thanks!

15 hours ago, Crimson Wife said: