Hi everybody!

I am an out-of-field applicant and I am a senior psychology major, applying to speech-language pathology schools right now.

I wanted to know if anyone had any suggestions on schools to apply to, or advice on whether I am shooting too high with the schools I've applied to.

Here are my stats:

Overall GPA: 3.80 Major GPA: 3.95

GRE: V-152 Q-152 W-4.0

I currently work as an ABA therapist and have a registered behavior technician license.

I have also shadowed three different SLPs and am still shadowing one so by the time applications are reviewed I will have about 100-150 shadowing/volunteer hours.

I volunteer as a "reading partner" in the area I live in, where I read with a child at a local elementary school.

I have applied to The University of South Carolina, Appalachian State University, Vanderbilt University, and Indiana University.

Any suggestions? Advice? Comfort??

You'll be fine! Your statistics are stellar and on top of that, you have experiences to back up your resume.

I suggest to focus more on making sure your personal state (or letter of intent) & LOR are just as good as your statistics. That's where I noticed most students in this field forget to do. Their statistics are on point but everything in their application is falling apart.

Don't worry too much. The one advice I received this year is, "You don't choose where you fit in or not. They do." You might be that one person that makes the cohart special.

Vanderbilt is extremely selective so unless you're able to retest and pull up your GRE scores in the next few months, you may want to add another less-selective school to your list. ASHA EdFind lists a GRE range at Vandy of 156-170 V and 152-165 Q.

• 3 weeks later...