For those who got in after their first try - what made the difference and how many years did it take?

I am a recent SLP undergrad and I was rejected by all the schools I applied to last year. I am finding out that it is actually pretty common for people to get in on their 2nd or 3rd try but I'm wondering how much time it took to gain the experience that made the difference in their application. Some people I know who got in last year worked as SLPas or TA's/personal tutors for special needs children, but they were in those jobs for 3-5 years. 

I worked as an SLPA for 2 years and i got a masters in special education. i really do think what it came down to though was applying to smaller schools that look at the whole applicant vs just scores.

I agree with the poster above. I was a SLPA for five years, as well as volunteer and research experience.. what it really came down to was grades :( However, I'm in Canada and there's a lot less options here. It seems that the US actually DOES have programs that look at the whole package.

I got in on my second try which was the next cycle after getting rejected. So I graduated/got denied in 2014 and was accepted in 2015. I increased my gre scores and was lucky to get a job in technology for speech therapy. The other difference was choosing the right schools to apply to because I had several offers that cycle. I also applied to 10 schools to have a better chance because I really didn't want to try a third year.