Is the normal for a grad class to be this demanding?

I have a previous master's degree, so I used to writing 20-25 page papers, but I've always had at least a semester to prioritize.  Then, I decided to go back for a second master's in Education.  This is the first time I've ever had a class where I'd have to write a 20 paper within two weeks.  To say I've been overwhelmed has been an understatement.  Has anybody had a similar experience? 

I never suffered from this demand in my seminars, but I know of professors who requested 10+ pages papers a week. I'm sorry you are overwhelmed!

On 12/1/2016 at 9:26 PM, Luke_Duke said:

This is the first time I've ever had a class where I'd have to write a 20 paper within two weeks.  

Were the assignments listed on the syllabus or did the professor assign the first paper and then the second with no forewarning?:huh:

I have not had this experience and it sounds awful.  What kind of papers are these exactly?  If they're more like essays sharing your experiences or cases then that might be easier to generate a lengthy paper on in little time.  But if these are research papers where you have to learn a new topic from scratch and then produce a lengthy paper then that has to be grueling.  If it is the latter the only suggestion I would have is if you have any flexibility in the topics then try to choose topics that build on each other so there is some overlap in sources and content to save a little time.

I think it depends on the field really. I haven't come across this in my program but its only my first semester.  I think a good speed would be two pages a day so you will have the 20 pages after 10 days and then you have 4 days left to fix it up/make it look pretty.

On 12/2/2016 at 0:26 AM, Luke_Duke said: