Hi all, 

I am in the process of trying to move from European history to U.S. History as my main field. This is, in part, because the prominent British historian in our department recently left the university and also because I have been interested in US and considering switching for a long time. However, departmental politics have made it really hard for me to leave my current advisor (she has a lot of pull on the tenure committee and Americanists don't want to "steal" me from her).  I have spoken with my advisor and she has given me the all clear to take U.S. coursework and make that my primary field, but others are still hesitant to work with me. How do I navigate this situation without stepping on any toes? I hate politics and red tape, and I've been in advisor limbo for the entire semester. I need to get this sorted out, so I can go on with my life. 

Edit: Also, I am still in my first year, so things are early for me. I know I don't have to declare an advisor and major field at least until May. 

Has anyone else been in similar situations? What should I do? Help! 

Edited by anxietygirl

The best way to make argument for switching fields (other than the geographic argument) is to think of theme that attracts other professors. For example, my department's Americanists are all historians of labor and slavery, so it is fairly expected that anyone working labor or slavery will, at some point, approach them. One of the East Asianists has a great eye for the subaltern, untold history, difficult archives, memory, and the like, so basically all of us working on dictatorship, authority, and state terror go to him for advice. This is, as you said, department-dependent.