BAD GRE, STILL ACCEPTED

sebastiaan

Thank you guys!!!

Yes. I know that I am in a Spanish program, but I´ve read that if your GRE was under 1200 or 1100 or 1000 they would not even look at your application (even in Spanish).

I just posted this to bring some hope.

And yes, I am an international student :)

I´m so freaking happy OMG!

Good luck to everyone!!!

Seba

Congrats. While it is great that you got into your program with a low GRE, I think it just goes to show you that the expectations for GRE scores of successful applicants are conditioned on a variety of factors. For example, many programs will take an applicant's national origin into consideration when evaluating his or hers verbal and analytical performance on the GRE. While an international engineering student may be able to get away with a <500 Verbal score on the GRE, I highly doubt many top-ranked engineering programs would willingly accept domestic students who scored below average on any section of the GRE regardless of its relevancy to a particular program.

Unless they recently immigrated,I'm pretty sure they are Canadian. We speak English.

OK, if you mean other parts of the applicants record, but the example implied they overlooked 2 parts of the GRE because they are international.

Edited by peppermint.beatnik

Congratulations! I also really stressed about my GRE scores and took it several times to no avail until my advisor told me to stop freaking out about the test...that it wouldn't be a big deal. I just got admitted to Caltech with a really crappy quantitative GRE score (despite a bachelors degree in mathematics). I scored in the 95% percentile in the verbal section and 5.5 in analytical but only 50% in quantitative (its been a 7 years since college is the excuse I'm sticking with). Quantitative usually really matters in the sciences but everything else mattered more in the end apparently.

Yes to all above AND Spanish is my first language.