Funded interdisciplinary/ MFA program with loose boundaries

milky lumps

Hi, I'm new to this page and also to the grad school search.

I graduated in 2015 and have been working and showing since then, not as much as I would like but you live and you learn and time passes quickly. Anyway, I am starting to look into schools to get ready to visit in the coming year and apply the year after that (I have a great studio space where i'm living promised to me for the next 2 years hence the time line). I'm also going to apply for residencies and I imagine that will help hone my intent and my search for schools, but in the meantime I figured I'd better start.

One thing I know is that I am not an expert in any particular medium. I got my degree in printmaking and I'm probably most skilled in drawing first, printmaking second, but my work has been installation that incorporates different ways of working. I also went to alfred for ceramics for a short period. I know I want a fairly open, not too technically based program (for instance I like using ceramics in my work, would like access to that, but I wouldn't want to go somewhere where they focus on in depth technical knowledge of the material). I've also considered starting out in printmaking or drawing/painting and just expanding once I get into the program. Or getting a degree in something so I can teach it but also being able to make the kind of work I want to make while I'm there. 

I'm wondering if anyone knows of good schools that are very open to that fluidity of focus. Either schools whose programs are inherently interdisciplinary or whose programs aren't too rigid. 

I'm also pretty sure I can only manage to go somewhere that is fully funded/ can give me a stipend as a t.a.? which I understand requires me upping my game to even be considered.

a city is a plus.

so obviously I'm looking for a unicorn of a school.