How do I ask SLPs about shadowing?

I'm an out of field student (B.A. Linguistics and French 2015) and I'm not really sure the best way to go about this. Should I cold-call? Should I email? Is there a standard format for this? I'm taking leveling courses in the Fall and Spring at UT Austin but I have a 5 week period in the summer where my schedule is basically open and I'd like to get a head start on observation hours. Any and all advice is appreciated! I have an advising appointment tomorrow so I'm also going to bring it up then. 

I'm also out of field and am in the process of wrapping up my observation hours now. Asking in your advising appointment if UT Austin has any connections for hours is definitely a good place to start. I did a mix of cold calling and emailing for mine. Briefly explain that you are starting a leveling program in the fall and are trying to get some observation hours in because you are out of field and ask if they allow that. I started out by searching for speech language pathologists in my area and when I didn't have much luck that way I started searching by type of disorder + my area. The latter method is how I found the aphasia group I'm using for some of my hours.

I would also suggest looking at private practices and nonprofits. I did the bulk of my hours at a nonprofit that runs events and therapy sessions for kids who stutter. I've found smaller organizations are more open to shadowing than some of the hospitals I reached out to who said no due to HIPAA restrictions. Not sure if your undergrad university has a speech program but, if so, you could try reaching out to the alumni network there.