UNC biostats PhD funding?

So I received a PhD offer from UNC Biostats last week, yet the offer letter did not mention funding details and says 'funding will be determined separately'. I looked through several threads about UNC biostats from last year, and found some applicant admitted to UNC biostats PhD program seems to be unfunded (at least until last March, the date that thread was posted). I am an international student and I feel it might be more difficult for me get funded, so I am a bit worried, and wanted to ask if anyone knows about the funding opportunity at UNC.

Thanks a lot!

I think that so few past applicants return to these forums and your questions would be happily answered by the department. I know there is a visit day in February but information about that hasn't been released (at least not to me)

19 minutes ago, bayessays said:

As of 5 years ago, they didn't guarantee funding to all students and didn't guarantee it for all 4-5 years. I had heard recently they fixed this issue, but apparently not?

Where did you hear they fixed it? I do know the funding stuff comes a little bit after the acceptance letter but not sure when.

1 hour ago, bayessays said:

From a student who was admitted and visited a few years ago. Maybe they have fixed the funding issues and you will just know later. 

I see they have some training grant spots but also saw in their manual onlu having 5 out of state tuition waivers. I imagine many would have to turn them down without full funding

4 minutes ago, leprechaun said:

@statbiostat2017

Thanks a lot for the reply. Congratulations on getting into UNC! Can I know where you learned about the visit day? I don't remember the offer letter mentioned this. 

I also hear that they offer more RA-ship than TA-ship.

Thank you. You are correct there wasn't a mention of the visit for this year but I found this
http://sph.unc.edu/bios/unc-biostatistics-doctoral-program-visit-days/

and assume this year would be roughly the same