Living on a stipend

Glanton

Hey all,

I got a way early acceptance call from my best fit (though least prestigious) possible program on March 1! I was totally caught off guard, partially due to the fact that I hadn't expected to hear anything for several weeks, and partially because I'd almost forgotten about the applications--I'm a busy man.

So anyway, they offered me a full ride, as it were, plus a halfway decent stipend--or what seemed like a halfway decent stipend while I was on the phone. The more I think about it, the more I'm wondering if I'll be able to live on it. I currently live in Brooklyn and make 20K more a year than they're offering me. The school is in little town Ohio, so rent would likely be a little less than half what I pay here, but I've been working in the private sector for 2 years and my fiancee and I have become accustomed to a certain standard of living. I'm very worried about not being able to make it work on that amount of dough.

I've got applications in at two other schools, one of which is here in New York and offers substantially more cash, but which is also a total reach for me. The school at which I've already been accepted is a good fit, and my lady and I are both enamored of the idea of spending two years there... So I guess what I'm asking is: is it at all acceptable to reply to the offer by saying you'd love to attend, but can't swing it at that pay rate? Or are these things pretty much set in stone? I'm giving it 3-4 weeks to see if I hear back from my other two choices, but I'd love the peace of mind of knowing that I could make this initial offer work for me somehow.

Thanks!