Boyar678

Hello everyone,

I am currently an undergraduate student studying History at SUNY Oneonta. My current GPA at SUNY O is 3.93, and I am working for the department chair as a research assistantship (funded work). I have worked as a research assistant for another professor, and I will be working as a teaching assistant next semester. I am also learning Russian and French, and I will be studying abroad in Saint Petersburg. 

Unfortunately, my academic history is hardly great outside of SUNY Oneonta. I started college when I was 16 at SUNY Delhi. I did 100 level classes with a mix of A's and B's. I started the nursing program there, and the results were poor. I obtained largely C's (some A's and B's but they were online classes). It was an associate degree, and unfortunately in the last semester I obtained two D's, which did not allow me to graduate. I guess I couldn't get my mind to enjoy the nursing like I have the history. 

With that said I looking for answers and advice. 

How do schools (PhD in history programs) view my nursing school failures? 

Even though the GPA is good, does SUNY O, hardly a reknown school, not make it look like a great turn around? 

What schools would be within my reach? 

Any response is greatly appreciated!

Edited by Boyar678

I'll give what's assuredly a boilerplate, unsatisfying, though nonetheless useful answer:

Graduate school admissions, especially for history, are much less data-based than you assume. Your application will be made or broken on three fundamental items: SoP (statement of purpose), writing sample, and letters of recommendation. Next to these three items, things like non-major GPA are nearly valueless.

You have two languages and presumably a decent degree of proficiency. Have you written a senior thesis or other 15-20 page research paper using original sources? If so, you have a writing sample.