Is grad school possible at this point?

ReturningStudent

I received a bachelor's in educational psychology about a decade ago.  I never worked in the field, nor have I worked since, as I've been raising children.  I've looked at graduate school options recently, and I wouldn't even know how to apply given that most ask for professional references, which I don't have.  I finished my degree online and never even really knew any of my professors.  When I say there's no one to ask, that's not me being lazy, there truly isn't. 

My GPA was decent, around 3.6.  How do I go about getting into grad school when all I have is a piece of paper that says that a decade ago I managed to make it through some psych classes?  Should I retake some classes to up my GPA? Should I take classes to demonstrate current abilities? Volunteer?   I'm not even sure where to start.

@ReturningStudent

My friend is a non-traditional student who received her bachelor's in English and then worked in an unrelated field for ten years. She decided she wanted to switch to psychology, and began volunteering in the same lab as me. She volunteered and took classes for two years before successfully being admitted to a PhD program and a master's program (she ultimately chose the master's program). I'm not as familiar with educational psychology specifically, but I would suggest volunteering and taking classes as your two main starting points.

Best of luck! :) 

I wouldn't waste money on post-bacc classes, your GPA is fine. You could audit classes if you're curious.

Volunteering is definitely a good start to get a feel for your interests. Reading academic journals can be helpful as well. To get into a masters program, you really just need to take the GRE and cobble together a couple letters of rec. Masters programs typically have fairly low admissions standards. PhDs take quite more legwork, require research exp., and are extremely competitive.

3 hours ago, Jung Boy said: