Canadian 2020 Fall Start (Spring 2020 Application) MPA/MPPA Thread: Info, Stats, Etc.

Hello, all! 

I'm hoping to start the thread here for applicants for MPA/MPPA (Policy, Public Administration) programs in Ontario or beyond (in Canada, still). 

I hope we can all support one another here with useful information and tips! 

I'm currently in my final year of undergrad at UofT (Humanities student!). I will be applying to schools in Spring 2020 and looking to start in Fall 2020. I don't know very much about all the potential programs just yet, but I hope to thoroughly research pertinent information before applying (obviously). Based on the information I do have, however, I hope to attend Queen's University's MPA. 

Please feel free to share posts about yourself, which programs you're interested (and why!), and any other relevant information. 

Cheers! 

Edited by policychiatto
Wrong date (year) in title

• 3 weeks later...

I am planning to apply to Grad school this year and hoping to start Sep.2020. 

I graduated from uft 10 years ago and went to work in the financial industry. I was always passionate about public policy but never pursued it after my graduation as i was already working for a bank. 

Not sure how hard it will be to get into grad school after a 10 yr gap and also i am pretty sure i wont be able to produce an academic reference. I ordered my transcript this week so lets see what my last 2 years of GPA looks like and will take it from there. 

• 3 weeks later...
On 9/5/2019 at 8:02 AM, BTF said:

What’s the plan after graduation? Giving you advice is largely based on that. 

Hi BTF, 
(Sorry for the month-late reply lol) 

The plan is to start a program in September 2020, and the end goal is to work in the field of education policy, whether that be in government or non-profit contexts. 

Hope that makes sense!

28 minutes ago, policychiatto said:

Hi BTF, 
(Sorry for the month-late reply lol)