Pros/Cons going to an out-of state SLP grad program

Hello everyone,

I've been fortunate enough to have been accepted to multiple SLP graduate programs where I have the option to choose whether I want to go out of state (as far away from home as 15 hours) or stay in the state where I received my undergraduate degree. After finishing my master's, I hope to move back to the area where I finished my undergraduate degree. I figure this might be my last opportunity before starting my career where I am able to get a "once in a lifetime experience". 

I was just wondering if there are any of you who are currently attending an SLP grad school out of state OR are planning on attending an out of state program? 

What are some pros/cons of attending an out of state program?

Edited by SLPgeek

Firstly, congratulations on your acceptances! 

I was born and raised in California and decided to move to Texas for college (undergrad). A con to this and to going to grad school out of state as well, is paying out of state tuition. If you're not well off OR don't want to take out a considerable amount of loans, this can be a deal breaker. Each state is different in their rules for out-of-state (Texas is very strict about theirs) tuition. I was fortunate to receive a waiver during my time in school in Texas and was granted in-state tuition but this won't happen for everyone. So long story short, out of state tuition is a big con.

However, a pro is, like you said, a "once in a lifetime experience" and can be really fun--especially if you like exploring new places and opportunities. If money isn't too much of an issue or if you're able to secure a scholarship, I'm all for going out of state!!

For grad school, I decided to stay in Texas because I worked hard to earn in-state tuition and didn't want to deal with that again somewhere else.

Hope this helps!

Edited by Caitzilla

Hi there! Congratulations on your acceptances!