Career Change into Psych

bb56

Hello:

In college I studied computer science and have been working the last 3 years as a software engineer at a FAANG company.  However, my passion was always psychology, and my choice to go into computer science was largely based on financial constraints.  I did do a minor in psychology in college and took some intro psych courses.  However all of my work/internship experience has been in tech.  Now that I have worked for a few years and saved some money I would be interested in changing careers and going into clinical psychology as a practitioner, especially for children (most of my undergrad minor was in early childhood development and I really loved these classes).

My undergrad GPA was only a 3.06, and I went to a top 20 private university in the US (although my pscyh GPA was a 3.34).  I am wondering what the best way for me to enter the psych world would be.  Would I be competitive for any MA programs (if so, any programs in particular I should look into?).  Would I need to do additional postbach coursework to raise my GPA?  I took the GRE and got 160/168 verbal/math.

I am not really interested in research and mostly interested in clinical work, which makes me feel like I might be more suited for a PsyD program than a PhD program.  However, I realize how competitive all these programs are and am not sure without research or strong undergrad GPA/lots of psych coursework how I could best go about making the transition.

Any advice appreciated!

26 minutes ago, bb56 said:

Hello: