How Hard is Graduate School?

thedig13

I've been talking to a few friends who've completed graduate school and others who are just starting. One, who has a PhD in Psychology, says that graduate school is easy breezy, and, if you have the right attitudes and time-management skills, it's just as easy as undergraduate work. Another, who just started doing some graduate work in Asian Literature, has been assigned about 30 books of reading over the next 3 months, has 9 quarter-hours of class, and has two 20-page papers to work on, and feels like she's getting overwhelmed. Basically, there's a lot of disparity in terms of opinions about grad school from the various people I'm asking.

I was hoping for some insight on your own experiences in graduate school, particularly in terms of how hard it was compared to your undergraduate experience. Right now, as an undergraduate student, I'm juggling about 16 units a quarter, completing a fair amount of written papers (about 15 - 25 total pages of final draft per quarter), studying enough to maintain a 3.9 GPA, as well as doing some research for a Professor of Ethnic Studies. I'd like to get some idea of what I can expect from graduate school and how much more day-to-day work I'll have to take on in order to succeed at that level.

Well I think you already found your answer in your question, it varies. :)

It depends on the type of program and type of student. Generally, it is more work than undergrad because you have heavy teaching and research duties on top of coursework which may also be more difficult.

Each person will give you different anecdotal evidence like in this thread:

Another, who just started doing some graduate work in Asian Literature, has been assigned about 30 books of reading over the next 3 months, has 9 quarter-hours of class, and has two 20-page papers to work on, and feels like she's getting overwhelmed.