there is still HOPE even with low GRE score.

sunflower246810

I read gradcafe, but I never posted. This is my first post.

I always see question with "what are my chances?" & most of these people have perfect GPA & GRE score.

So, when I was applying for graduate school, I was so worried.

I have a low GRE score, but I got accepted to all the grad schools that I applied!

I applied to UT Austin, Georgia tech, UF, & UCLA. They all accepted me.

So, I just want to let other people know that you have a chance & GRE is just one part of the application. :)

My major is engineering.

My GRE score is Verbal 147, Math 159, & Writing 4.0

Definitely. At least in the field of English literature, the most important components of your application are the Statement of Purpose and Writing Sample. I was nervous that a dismal score on the quantitative section (on the 30th percentile) and a mediocre 4.5 on the AW section would ruin my chances of being accepted, but I was very surprised to find out that even some of the most competitive programs do assess your application materials holistically.

Congrats. But no offense that is a pretty week GRE score for most competitive PhD programs in clinical psychology. I've seen applicants with literally perfect GRE scores and they usually get in. It def depends on the field. I would expect in engineering you'd need a higher Quant score but well done for getting in! That's awesome!

• 2 weeks later...

Wow Sunflower, congrats!

I think I have pretty mediocre verbal score (145) and maybe that's how I got 3 rejections out of 5 PhD public policy programs. I'm Thai and I know my English is far from perfect, but do you think I still have a shot at this? I don't know if Public Policy programs care that much about my Quan score though (162) because my AW score was not good either (3.5).

Edited by polaromonas