SOP Readers - Helping Out Fellow Applicants

(I'm very new to gradcafe but one of the things that really impressed me with this forum is the sense of camaraderie that it genuinely seems to foster. With that in mind...)

I've seen a lot of applicants on this forum looking for opinions on the Statement of Purpose section of applications. While I know a lot of people are hesitant to post their own SOPs on such a public forum (which is completely understandable), I've also seen a number of people volunteer to serve as editors for fellow applicants' SOPs provided that the documents are sent in a private message. I thought that this would be a good way to kind of consolidate the gradcafe(rs) who are willing to read and edit each others' SOPs.

Anyway, the spirit of this thread is to make it easier for applicants to find someone who's up for lending a helping editing hand when it comes to one of the most stressful (and subjective parts) of the application process. If you're up for helping out a fellow member's application, add your name to this list.

B) (sunglasses to hide my fear that everyone else on this forum is going to think this is a terrible idea)

I would be happy to help - of course, I did not get into all of my applied schools (1 straight acceptance, 1 waitlist turned acceptance to a top 20 school), but I do feel like I learned from the process. I would assume that my edits would be taken as just a small addition to the other professors and such who would also be offering comments.

Wow, thanks for starting this thread. I am one of those who didn't make it through this year, and was wondering how to ask for help on this for the next time around. Thanks for reading my mind, and for everyone's generosity - something you'd almost expect at this point by this great crowd, but super appreciated, nonetheless.

I'd be glad to read SoPs!