Anyone else out there in the "teeny-weeny cohort club"?

In the fall, I will be one of two (2!) students entering my PhD program. I met some of the current students and it seems like a friendly group, and I'm already on the radar of my advisor-to-be, so I feel okay about it, but I do suspect it will be a quite different experience. Can anyone else offer reflections on how being part of such a small group affects dynamics, classes, etc.?

I was the only PhD student for the first year in my program...it's an interdisciplinary program, so you essentially make up your own committee and are part of a parent department. So in my program, I have a wide range of PhD students from hard to soft sciences.

It was a bit lonely, but was still alright. I was lucky to be in a lab with one other person..ha ha ha...we connected well and spent a lot of time studying together. It is a bit different, but it also is kind of nice- you don't have that competition or comparison.

Can't say on the experience as I haven't begun yet, but I found out I was my adviser's only new incoming student. Talk about putting on the pressure haha:) good luck!

Me too. I'm also pretty sure I'll be his ONLY student for a while because the other one is taking some time off. But there are a couple of people (not undergrads) volunteering in the lab, and my actual cohort is pretty large so hopefully it'll work out ok!

I am actually the only incoming graduate student for my advisor this fall, and there are only two others (a post doc student and a masters student) who work with my advisor as well. There are a couple other people in different labs who work pretty closely with ours, but even then there are only five of us total. I haven't had any experience with classes so far since that doesn't start until August for me, but I have been doing research and helping out in the lab for over a month now.