Problem with a prof.

graduate33

Hi All,

I'm currently dealing with a sensitive situation at my host university. I'm an international exchange student (from Europe), in the second year of my master, studying in the US for the first time. 

The European educational system differs from the American one in two major ways: we don't have many choices in terms of courses and our relationship with our professors are very distant and professional.

I'm writing on this forum because I'm not sure what to do regarding the following matter and would welcome any advice:

A recently tenured professor is giving me a bad name because I dropped his class. I explain: I had the opportunity to sit in on one his classes during the first semester (he's from a different department) and really liked his method of teaching.

There was some serious flirting going on (he initiated it, and I must say that I was flattered because he's very handsome, he's less than 10 years older than me and he doesn't wear a ring on his finger, so from my perspective he was as available as I was, and we're both adults), but nothing really happened because he eventually said that he was married with 2 kids (he waited until the end of the semester to give me this info though!). Even though I felt a bit awkward that he waited so long to tell this, I didn't want any trouble and moved on.