Buying a new laptop

shockwave

I am need to give my current school issued laptop back at the end of the semester, meaning I will have to do what I have been putting off for a few years now, which is buy a new laptop.  I am probably one of the least computer-knowledgable people one could find and am looking for advice.

I mainly need this for research purposes.  Documents, files, writing, etc.  I don't play games on it or anything, occassionally will watch a movie if I am on a long trip or something.  I am not looking to spend very much at this time and would really prefer something light weight.  Ideally I'd have liked a macbook but I think I can get something cheaper (such as chromebook, or a small hp laptop, etc.).  I was wondering if anyone could give me some recommendations, advice, things to avoid, etc. because I really have no clue what I am looking for.

Thanks everyone.

My laptop broke a few months back and I was looking to buy a Macbook pro, until I saw the sticker price.

I ended up buying a Samsung Chronos laptop Series 7. (Series 3 is cheapest, 9 is the priceiest). The design is very similar to a Macbook Pro, and I can see why Apple is angry with Samsung for copying.

Series 7 would be overkill for your described needs, but you can probably check out the 3 or 5.

Lots of newer laptops come with Windows 8, which is a little annoying to somebody who really liked Windows 7. But underneath the awful start screen and lack of start menu, it's the same operating system.

I've heard that Lenovo makes some very solid and reliable laptops. They are reasonably priced and everyone I know who uses one swears by it. You can sign up for their newsletter on their website, and they frequently send out codes with discounts for purchasing online (a month ago select models were like 32% off or something... pretty decent deal).