Thoughts on Graduation Announcements

microarray

I am thinking about sending out grad announcements to my huge extended family in hopes that they will send me money. I am moving 3000 miles away for grad school this summer and could really use the extra cash. How can I ask for money tactfully?

haha well.... that's what i'm trying to get! I have never asked for money, but I was hoping since I am getting my BS soon and that I'm going to grad school at a really awesome school, they'll congratulate me with money.

Are you planning on just dropping a note/newsletter or actually sending announcement cards?  I am only sending mine out because its nice to let the non-facebook savvy members of the family know that we will be moving (I also am having "we're moving! here's our new address" cards made up to be sent with.) When I got my bachelors, I did get a couple small graduation gifts from my in-laws and god parents (my parents bought me the sewing machine of my choice, probably not everyone's idea of a great graduation gift) but I'm not expecting anything for my masters.

My brother (going from bachelors to masters) and my announcement cards are going to read along the lines of, "Announcing the graduation of  [Full Name] from [university] with a [Degree] in [Program] [Date] [Location] / [First Name] will be pursuing a [degree] in [program] at [university] in the Fall"

Newsletters are popular with DH's family but my family finds them annoying *shrug*

I used vistaprint business cards for "we're moving" last time. I think I upgraded to the nicer weight (and without the logo on the back). It's lighter than a full card and people had put it in their rolodex or where ever they store contact information. The only problem is their smallest order is way more than I needed so I still have a couple dozen sitting in a box.