Problems with the advisor because i am a MA student?

Hi everyone. I am MA student in economics. My goal is to enter PhD program after graduation. Currently i am trying to develop a theoretical model in my independent study course. From the very start of collaborating with my advisor I have problems with him. He cancelled our meetings several times, once just "forgot" to come. During our short discussions he is condescending to me despite the fact that he wrote a recommendation letter for my PhD application: now i am starting to realize that it was not a good decision to ask him about that. But going back to our work: he ignores my letters where i am asking for meetings to discuss the model: to build a theoretical framework is not that easy without an advisor. Our rare meetings just have slowed down my research. And finally, after he has ignored another my letter where asked him to meet, i wrote him again and asked whether he wanted to work with me at all. He answered that he was not going to meet with me on a regular basis as i am a Master student and not his PhD student so he can listen to me only "from time to time". Furthermore, he said that if i am not satisfied with such a style of work i should "find someone else".  I am frustrated. Only few professors work in a field i am doing research in. One professor declined to be my advisor because his wife hadn't allowed to take extra obligations. And now this professor lacks attention to my research because of my master's status. Is that a discrimination against masters' students? The choice of professors familiar with my topic is getting smaller and smaller, basically only one professor is left to ask help from.  

Edited by Tsareva

I definitely disagree with the above comment...