Fall 2016 Applicants

pearl31

I know this is way too soon!  However, I was wondering if there are fellow neurotic future applicants who are biding their time for the 2016-2017 application season?

I will be applying to PhD programs (mostly social/ cultural types of programs).  Almost all of the programs will be long-shots.  I figure I am at a point in my life (three young kids) that I'm all-in.  If it works, it works, and our family is off on an adventure, and if it doesn't, I will stay put and be happy anyway.  That's what I'm telling myself!  :-)

Applying to Harvard, Penn, Berkeley, Vanderbilt, Michigan, Michigan State, UVA, Washington, Wisconsin, Stanford, Colorado.

A bit about me:  English major from a state school (3.4, didn't care when I was a freshman and stupid), Master's in Education from an unknown private school (3.9).1 year teaching elementary, 3 years teaching community college, (4 years as a stay at home mom in between), GRE 165/150.  I never saw myself applying to any of these amazing schools, but teaching adults really gave me more purpose and opened my eyes.  I would have never imagined doing this in my twenties.  I think that no matter what happens, I'm glad that I am going for it!

Anybody else? 

Edited by pearl31

Here! :-)

Been through this circus before, gonna do it this round with some social support.

I want to go into Educational Neuroscience, so my options for grad schools are pretty limited... On the other hand, I've got options with regards to mathematics instruction etc.