DAAD 2017-2018

maelia8

Thought I'd start a new thread for this year. Is anybody else applying? My campus internal deadline is October 19th, so I'm already hard at work on the application.

I may have found a discrepancy in the instructions ... for the research grant, the daad.de scholarship database states that the research proposal should be maximum 10 pages, while the daad.org checklist states that it should be maximum 5 pages. I'm not sure which is correct. Does anybody know?

So jealous! I wish my uni was a partner uni. Alas! Good luck on your app and for anyone else who doesn't know: the double space is up to you; the max is 5 pages.

@Horb Yeah that's what they wrote me back - they have no requirements as to spacing or formatting. I guess one could theoretically write in 24 point comic sans ... though I wonder if that would be seriously received.

Hi fellow applicants, 

This is my first time applying for a DAAD award. I will be conducting a research project over the summer in 2017 in Germany and was advised to apply for the DAAD research grant. However, I'm wondering if I'd be a good candidate. The advisor I'll be working with is an esteemed professor and very well published. I am currently in my second year of graduate school (should have my MA by the end of Spring) and only have one publication under my belt thus far (a couple more in the works, but won't be published by the time applications are due). I'm new to DAAD but heard it's very competitive. Do I even stand a chance or should I set my sights - and energy - elsewhere?

I'd appreciate any and all advice!

7 hours ago, Lydia1743 said:

Hi fellow applicants,