Learning how to ask and answer historical questions

delores

I'm a first year MA student in an interdisciplinary program with a strong interest in history. My BA is in philosophy; I have not taken a single history class since high school. I'm very excited to be in my first graduate history course this term, but I'm a little worried that, when it comes to doing research or analyzing the readings, I won't know how to ask questions like a historian. 

As an undergrad, I found a wonderful guide to writing philosophy papers which I often referred to (here). It's aimed at intro students, but the advice pertains to people doing philosophy at high levels as well. I especially appreciated the list of things which a philosophy paper might try to do, and when I was stuck writing something, I would sometimes look at it to remind myself of what the possibilities were.

I recognize that many of the guidelines for how to write a philosophy paper apply to history as well, but aside from that--does anyone know of any similar resources for history? It could be another blog post, or a book. I'm just looking for some guidelines about how historians ask, and answer questions--an introduction to the practice of history as a discipline, I guess. 

Any recommendations? 

Your input in that class won't come because you think as a historian. It will come because you don't. You are in an interdisciplinary program, so ask interdisciplinary questions. I enjoyed having people from other in my history classes because they were not historians: they helped me think outside of the history box.