How important is undergrad school name?

imean

Sorry if this has been posted previously, I'm new to the website. But I've been wondering, I go to a pretty well-known school for undergrad and have been wondering how grad schools consider that in the admissions process? Although I feel like it's no big deal, I do understand that the hard work I did here may not be comparable to the work load at a less competitive school. So, do graduate schools even take this into consideration? Thanks!

Welcome!

It's not an automatic in. Not by any means. I graduated with an honours degree from a top American college and had one heck of a time getting into graduate school last year. Why? Because it was clear that I didn't really know what I wanted to do, that I was torn between two fields. Yes, your ability to handle a lot of work does play a role, but being a good match for the department's research-interests is what is crucial. My guess is that a strong department probably wouldn't take a 4.0 kid from Princeton with multiple publications if he or she hadn't shown in his or her application that he or she was keenly interested in a subfield being studied by at least one faculty-member at the institution in question. You can take pride in getting to where you are, but assuming that the name alone will be able to take you further is always risky.

Your question is a little arrogant, which I believe is typical of those who attend the University of Washtenaw County. :P

In seriousness, a 3.9 from UM will always look better than a 3.9 from State (depending on difficulty of classes taken), but if you rest on your laurels while the State applicant busts his butt to do tons of research and get great LORs and a perfect writing sample, he would probably get in before you. Oh, and GRE/other test scores count too.