Extracurricular commitments?

prospectivecsgrad

During my MA, I couldn't make time to do marching band, but I did join the alumni band at Homecoming and played DnD with a few groups pretty regularly. I also have my own Twitch channel and was better about streaming when I was in my MA than now, haha. Ultimately, you need to find the balance of being committed to your studies without letting it take over your life.

I was very involved in extracurricular as an undergraduate student. I started volunteering at the age of 12. So it's very natural for me to keep being involved. I am at the end of my first semester in my master's program, I am a full-time student and I was able to volunteer quite a lot this term along with my courses. I think it depends a lot on your time management skills and your ability to cope with pressure and multiple commitments at once. I won't say it was easy, but I managed to make it through this semester with a perfect average so far (I have 3 assignments left to hand in). I think it's also important to prioritize and say no to things. I've said no to a lot of other commitments I could have. I tried to pick the commitments that would be best for my professional development and a potential Ph.D. application. Two birds one stone, kind of. 

Edited by Adelaide9216

Yes! Right now, I'm in dance, a martial art, and a figure skating group and participate very often (every practice for all of them). This is in addition to independently studying two foreign languages and learning guitar as well as regularly working out. My academics haven't suffered as a result either - in fact I just published a paper in a journal! :D