Living by yourself vs. with Roommates

pnc95

Hey everyone!

So I made my decision on where I will be going for graduate school, but now I'm trying to decide a place to live while attending. Since it's my first year away from home I didn't know if it's better to have roommates or if it doesn't matter. I've never lived away from home, so I'm not sure how I would handle living with a roommate, but I know it is usually a cheaper option and it could guarantee a friend to do some things with while I'm there. On the other hand, I am usually in my room doing my own thing and not one to want to leave the house or be really sociable so being alone would give me the privacy I want and freedom to do what I want with the place.

If anyone has any advice on what they notice is better please help me!

Thanks

Not every roommate will be your friend. Some will want a house mate simply because of finances, but may not be looking for a new friend. Others are more social and want someone who will also hang out with them. That's a question to bring up with potential roommates and to keep in mind when you choose one. 

The finances question is separate. You'll need to ask yourself if you can afford to live alone in your prospective city, and if so, if it's worth the extra investment as opposed to having a roommate. This is a personal choice so no one can tell you what to do. If you've never lived away from home, in my opinion a roommate situation is often easier to get started because they will help with furniture and paying bills and other questions you might have (as well as things you never knew you needed to ask). I'm also suggesting this because someone who's never lived alone may also have a harder time planning their finances, so it's safer to start slower and learn to understand your own spending habits, then move out and live alone later if you so choose. That said, it's totally personal and up to each person to decide.