Note taking during class

I was wondering what you guys are planning on doing for note taking during class. For undergrad I hand wrote all of my notes, but I don't think that would be useful during grad school. All of my classes are 3 hours long. I was considering typing them on my laptop either in a google doc, or if the professor uses a powerpoint to lecture I was going to type notes from the lecture into the note section on the powerpoint. Since I will be walking to class (around a mile each way) I am worried about how the weather (rain) might damage my laptop. Also my laptop can be somewhat unpredictable with it's battery life, and since I'm not in a place where I can afford to buy a new one I was just curious to see what others are doing

Hi! I am a second year graduate student and just wanted to chime in what I did.  I found it helpful to have a laptop to type my notes because there is just so much to learn and write! That way as well you can save all your notes in folders on your desktop and access them easier at a later time (example, when studying for the Praxis)! You can also create google drives that way too so you always have notes without a bunch of papers laying around!

Some of our teachers did provide us an outline of our notes we could print out so we could hand write. Some people in my cohort did this, some typed, some tried both. I learned to just keep my charger in my backpack and find an outlet in the classroom, haha! I will say it is possible to hand write, but you may find you'll miss info because professors talk pretty quick. They have a lot of knowledge and want to provide as much as possible!  I would try and make binders of notes if you hand write, that way is it organized. There were also a few in our cohort that used iPads with keyboards or the pen that lets you write on them! Hope this helps!! ^_^

Edited by koalalover1