Is it GPA suicide to complete 30 credits in two semesters (fall/spring)?

My program requires 30 credits and theoretically can be completed within one academic year...is this even realistic? Or should I stretch out the credits over 1.5-2 years instead?  I'd like to hang on to my sanity and have some semblance of a social life (hobbies, exercise, family/friend time, volunteering, pets, etc.)  I know that Columbia has a reputation as a stress factory.  I looked at the course list for my department and an individual course is typically 3-5 credits.  I need to be enrolled FT to be in graduate housing, but I am willing to live off-campus.  

I would stretch it if I were you. When I went through my master's I got questioned multiple times by the department committee that oversees graduation and doctoral admissions on why I did my master's so quickly. (I started spring 17 and graduated end of spring 18 - so 1.5 years essentially for me) They had a valid point for bringing it up. Graduate school is not about how quickly you can power through the program, it is about giving yourself time to truly master the concepts and create original research (if applicable), or have time to reflect on what the content is (transformative learning).

That said, I had a good reason to go through mine quickly because I knew I wanted to get started with the PhD as quickly as I could knowing it would take 4-5 years. I am already in my late 20's and I started on an off-term being that it was January and I had to be finished in time for a fall start for the PhD. I did not want to take time off in between (except for a summer).

Long story short, it is your decision, but I would not do the entire degree in a single academic year. Maybe a fall, spring, summer trimester type timeframe, but I would not go quicker than that if it was my decision. Good luck!