2019 GEM Fellowship

Teaching Faculty Wannabe

Hi all!

So, I noticed a forum hasn't been created for the GEM Fellowship 2019 applicants. I was wondering if anyone else is applying this year and/or has advice on applying for it. This is my first year applying, and I am having some trouble with the personal statement. What have you all included in your statements? Also, here we can update each other on our statuses and discuss any other questions people may have.

Here are the links to a few of the past years of these discussions:

GEM 2018

GEM 2017

GEM 2016

GEM 2015

GEM 2014

22 hours ago, hope212 said:

Did you (or anyone else) apply early decision? Also have you been contacted by any employers? 

I did apply early decision, but I have yet to be contacted by any employers and my employer status still stays unmatched. However, according to what I read in the previous forums, people didn't start getting contacted until early next year, so there is still hope for us yet!

I started on my statement now and what I have been focusing on are detailing my career and graduate goals as well as my research interests and how my interests led me to apply to grad school, and how this fellowship will help me achieve my goals as an engineering and researcher.

Hi all! 

I found out about this Fellowship recently and have started preparing for it as well. Can anyone walk me through the process of the decision intimation? 

Do I have to contact the GEM representative for the schools I’m applying to?  

Also, do they notify us if we got selected and then match us, or does our selection completely depend on the sponsor companies? 

Thanks! 

On 10/21/2018 at 7:43 AM, gradstudent6 said:

Hi all! 

I found out about this Fellowship recently and have started preparing for it as well. Can anyone walk me through the process of the decision intimation? 

Do I have to contact the GEM representative for the schools I’m applying to?