Anxiety and Depression

chicago_style

I know that this is a huge topic floating around GradCafe in both applications and actual students, so, let's discuss it in depth here. For prospective students, how has mental illness affected your studies, outlook, and preparation (or feeling the lack thereof) for grad school? For current students, how have you coped with your depression? Medication? Mental toughness? Is it possible to fight it long enough without prescriptions to make it through a Ph.D. program? 

As competitive as grad school can be, ultimately we're all in this together. 

I graduated in 2015 with excellent grades and accomplishments from my undergraduate university. I'm applying to grad school this year after a long wait (for family reasons, not anything to do with my mental health). As you can see in my signature, I've gotten mostly rejections. My anxiety drove me to achieve when I was an undergrad. Once I graduated, my anxiety got much worse and out of control, and I developed severe depression as well. The years off were probably a good thing, because they gave me a chance to recover and learn to cope with something that may follow me my whole life.