Do top grad schools care about your course load?

MotherofAllCorgis

I hope it's okay posting here as well.

I'm in 3rd year and looking to do a history MA at Oxbridge or one of the Ivies. I was wondering if they look at your course load in admissions? Will they penalize you if you took a class less for a semester or two?

I took some classes in the summer and as a result I took one less class then the usual. I was thinking of doing it again next year but wanted to check if that would cause some problems.

This is something that I have wondered about as well. I entered my university with a lot of transfer credit and took 3 classes/quarter (as opposed to 4) for several quarters to avoid graduating in the fall. I was still admitted to two top-50 programs, though ??‍♀️

Oxford and “the ivies” are not equivalent and MA admissions work differently in different countries. Ivy MA programs are often cash cows. I’d also question why you assume “the ivies” (a relatively diverse group of schools) will be the best place for your research, and why you’d assume they’re necessarily better than other schools—it rings some serious warning bells. 

Edited by OHSP

No. As long as you finish the degree (or will be by the time you enter grad school).  People vary their courseloads all the time for different reasons including medical and family.

Currently working on my MPhil at Cambridge.  They don’t really care about courseload.  They do however care about research experience.  At Oxbridge in particular, the masters level degree is quite independent and very much research based.  Understand this going into one and you’ll love it, but I have friends that are a little disappointed because they thought the masters would be structured like programs in the U.S.  Personally, I’ve had an amazing time, but my research interests fit very well with my department’s strengths and I’ve been lucky to have fantastic advisors.  

If it helps, my experience: