Hi all, I have a pretty low undergrad GPA of about 3.3 in communication disorders but want to get into a masters for SLP somewhere. I have yet to take the GRE but most likely won't be doing too stellar on that either. I will be taking a gap year and then applying for the Fall 2020 cohort at schools. I have a lot of experience with a lot of observation/shadowing hours, being a paraprofessional, a direct care professional, and volunteering abroad. I'm wondering if I even have a chance of getting into any schools with this low GPA? Also willing to go anywhere for grad school so if you know anywhere that accepts lower GPAs let me know!

Commenting so that I can follow this thread. I know many people who have been accepted with GPA's in the 3.0-3.4 range. The GRE speaks volumes too and if you're like me and struggled with historically harder, non CSD related classes (physics, pre-calculus) grad schools are going to be able to tell that was the issue. There are many more aspects to a application than your GPA. My advice would be to try and do as well as possible on the GRE. Hope my input helps some! 

My best advice would be to apply to schools that accept lower GPA's or that get fewer applications. Plenty of the schools in my signature get fewer applicants per cycle. I have a 3.47 CSDCAS GPA but I supplemented by lower GPA with research positions, volunteering related to CS&D, and getting involved with NSSLHA at my school. Lastly, I'd say schools that interview allow them to evaluate your application beyond your GPA/GRE's -- you're able to verbally explain your experiences and incorporate your positive qualities into the questions they ask. Best of luck!!

4 minutes ago, Procaffeination said: