Perfect Advisor but Mediocre Rank :/

I don't know whether to take an offer from a "not top tier, not well known, but not unknown" department. 

The funding is hand to mouth, but everyone there tells me they are happy. I couldn't possibly "fit" better in too many other places. I idolize this advisor too--great work, great experience, happy students. But I cannot shake off the nagging feeling that I will never be able to compete with TT jobs with PhDs from famous places. 

I have been a star student all my life. But do not know how to choose a grad school -- what to prioritize and what to ignore. I don't want to be jobless five years later :(

Edited by Whovian
Error in order of words.

4 hours ago, Whovian said:

I don't know whether to take an offer from a "not top tier, not well known, but not unknown" department. 

The funding is hand to mouth, but everyone there tells me they are happy. I couldn't possibly "fit" better in too many other places. I idolize this advisor too--great work, great experience, happy students. But I cannot shake off the nagging feeling that I will never be able to compete with TT jobs with PhDs from famous places. 

I have been a star student all my life. But do not know how to choose a grad school -- what to prioritize and what to ignore. I don't want to be jobless five years later :(

From what I've seen, school rank doesn't matter too much at the PhD level. The research you do. The papers you publish. The advisor you work with. Those things are important. Good luck!

Edited by Moods

2 minutes ago, Whovian said:

Thanks, Moods!

I have just been feeling concerned because this department has not published its placement data. And I have been apprehensive about whether it is because it is does not look good for them. 

Hmmm, I see. That can be concerning and I see why you are hesitant. I would maybe contact some grad students already in the department and see what they say and maybe you can get a vibe that way?