NSF GRFP 2019-2020

SFS

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! I’m a 2nd year PhD student, I held off on applying last fall and I’m glad I did because I have a much stronger CV and research plan this time around. My biggest question is in regards to choosing the primary field. Is it true that some fields are more/less competitive than others? My proposal could probably fall into either the IO psychology or STEM education bucket, and I’m not sure which would be a better choice. 

• 3 weeks later...

I'm scared about this right now. I told two of my recommenders at least a week ago that I wanted them to submit references for me, but I initially gave them the wrong date of November 1st to have their references submitted. I did message them correcting myself though. I hope it isn't too much trouble for them to have them sent in sooner. But the sad thing is that I totally forgot about the due date being in October... I need to have my draft statements ready to be reviews asap. 

On 9/27/2019 at 6:24 PM, Uchuuko said:

I'm scared about this right now. I told two of my recommenders at least a week ago that I wanted them to submit references for me, but I initially gave them the wrong date of November 1st to have their references submitted. I did message them correcting myself though. I hope it isn't too much trouble for them to have them sent in sooner. But the sad thing is that I totally forgot about the due date being in October... I need to have my draft statements ready to be reviews asap. 

Isn't the reference deadline November 1?

On 9/29/2019 at 1:57 PM, weidcm said:

Isn't the reference deadline November 1?

It is (I ended up checking what you said, and it turns out I was right the first time; thank you so much). I will tell my references this right away. Now I feel less worried, but I still have so much to finish. I haven't finished my proposal yet. ?