Spanish 2020

SlyManuel

Hi SlyManuel. You're already done with your applications? Wow, that is efficient! I wasn't done nearly so quickly back at the end of 2014 when I submitted my 9 applications.  But, extremely stressed is normal, most people feel that way, and that's exactly how I felt back then. I'm now in my fifth year of a PhD program and I went ABD in June 2019. I'm doing fieldwork now to "finish" my PhD (as if the dissertation isn't much of anything!) I wish everyone great success! 

I'm torn right now. I'm hoping to continue on to the Ph.D where I'm doing my master. There are days I think they'll admit me to the PH.D. , and there are days where I think they must think I'm the biggest idiot ever and I have no chance whatsoever.

I'm probably applying to a couple as backup, and if I don't get in, I'll at least know so I have time to apply to the ones due in January. I may take a gap year too between the M.A. and Ph.D. 

My focus is on 20th and 21st century Iberian/Peninsular studies, so if anyone has any recommendations of programs, I always enjoy looking at them :D 

2 hours ago, senorbrightside said:

I'm torn right now. I'm hoping to continue on to the Ph.D where I'm doing my master. There are days I think they'll admit me to the PH.D. , and there are days where I think they must think I'm the biggest idiot ever and I have no chance whatsoever.

I'm probably applying to a couple as backup, and if I don't get in, I'll at least know so I have time to apply to the ones due in January. I may take a gap year too between the M.A. and Ph.D. 

My focus is on 20th and 21st century Iberian/Peninsular studies, so if anyone has any recommendations of programs, I always enjoy looking at them :D