My research field is Chinese history, but I am also interested in interdisciplinary approaches to cultural history. So far I have applied to and am waiting on history PhD programs with a strong interdisciplinary base, as well as East Asian studies (EALC/EALAC) programs. 

My previous training (undergrad, masters) was in history, and my supervisor assured me that I would still be able to be hired as a historian even if I'd graduate with an EALC degree (because I majored in history during my undergraduate and MA studies). While I am very attracted to EALC programs, which would allow me to incorporate literature & film studies in my own research (that's what I want to do), I am at the same time worried that it would make me less competitive in job market if I'd not have a doctoral degree in history.

I hope I will be able to apply to EALC and history academic jobs after finishing my PhD. My question is, would having a doctoral degree in EALC or history make much difference in this case?

I think it depends a little on EALC as a subfield. 

In Latin American Studies, there is more gatekeeping. It's hard for historians to get LACS jobs (though not impossible, I know one person) and viceversa, I seriously doubt a history department would hire a person with Latin American Studies PhD. In this field, the area part of the program usually is very language and literature based, with very little historical training. 

Do you know how your subfield works? 

On 1/5/2020 at 5:44 PM, TMP said:

It is true... but the most important thing about "Area Studies" PhD programs is to look at the placement record of the program AND the adviser.

Also, look at the faculty rosters at history departments where you'd like to work. Are there hiring patterns that suggest a EALC ph.d. will be GTG?

16 hours ago, AP said:

In this field, the area part of the program usually is very language and literature based, with very little historical training.