Is it too late to start college again at 26 years old?

menameta

Two semesters ago, I graduated from college in New York with a Bachelors degree in Psychology. I had a 2.45 cumulative GPA. I messed up during my freshman and sophomore years because I was immature. I watched movies and listened to music instead of studying. Now, I'm working as a lab technician. I don't like my job very much. I would like to become a social worker, mental health counselor, or something having to do with animals. I am 26. I want to continue my education and earn better grades. Now, I am older and more interested in school. Do I have a chance of getting into any Masters program with a 2.4 undergrad GPA? Or would I need to start college from scratch?

There's no such thing as starting college from scratch from an admissions committee perspective. Adcoms and graduate school requirements are only concerned with the GPA you receive prior to your first degree being conferred. Any classes you take after your first degree has conferred, whether they be non-degree or degree seeking, will not be tabulated into your GPA. This includes the last 60 GPA that most schools use. They only care about the GPA of your first degree.

You might consider taking some classes in order to prove that you are more focused and better prepared in the foundations of whatever discipline you choose. I did this in order to be considered for Public Policy studies by taking Economics and Statistics courses. I had a 2.97 overall GPA and I was accepted into the University of Michigan's Ford School of Public Policy. While I don't think that rankings are everything, they are ranked 7th in the nation by US News and World Report. In some ways, I consider this a coup.