PhD/DrPH (Public Health) Fall 2023

sheisgreat

Hi all!

I just wanted to get some comments/recommendations on what skills to have/how to pick PhD programs in behavioral sciences since I'm coming from different background. I am planning to apply to PhD program either this fall or next year. 

Stats: BS in Biology and Statistics (GPA 3.0), MPH concentration in Biostatistics (GPA 3.5). I have 5 years of experience after MPH in both industry and academia as a statistician (with health, medical data). I have some (but short) research experiences about asthma in school children, cancer diagnosis, spatial analysis of cancer for different racial and age groups. I don't have any publications and working on a project that will be published (not first author). I'll take GRE this summer. I know I don't have high GPA and don't have direct public health experiences so I was wondering if I will have any chance in getting into the behavioral sciences PhD program.

Any comments will be appreciated!

• 4 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi everyone! I've been a long time scroller on this forum but this is my first time posting. I'm applying to PhD programs in community health/social & behavioral health sciences this round. 

Does anyone have any suggestions on the best time to reach out to mentors? I'm not sure if now is too early or if waiting until the summer will be too late? Thanks in advance for the suggestions! 

On 4/16/2022 at 11:12 PM, GaRlIc BrEaD aLmOnD said:

Hi all!

I just wanted to get some comments/recommendations on what skills to have/how to pick PhD programs in behavioral sciences since I'm coming from different background. I am planning to apply to PhD program either this fall or next year.