Phd Abroad: Good or bad?

edie

I'm not sure if this is the right area to post this in...

I'm an American thinking about doing a PhD program abroad and I'm wondering if anyone has any insights into the pros/cons there maybe be earning a PhD in a foreign country and in obtaining a job if one has a degree from a European university versus a degree from an American university if I hope to work in the US.

Thanks for any help in advance!

cheers.

I studied in the UK for my MA and noticed that the shorter degree there (3 years) did not give the students time to get (enough) publications finished. None of the PhD students from my program went on to faculty positions. Those who were successful in the academic job hunt found postdocs (at least one in the US). There also was very little funding available compared to US psychology PhD programs and the funding situation was especially dire for overseas students.

I've been told some of the shorter programs (like the 3-year PhD in the UK) is frowned upon in North America, as it generally doesn't involve much more than the research project. You also miss out on GTAing (or comparable experience).