Welcome to the 2012-2013 cycle

Perhaps a little earlier than last year, but as the board is winding down I thought I might start this thread now for all those applying for Political Science programs this year :).

(Apologies to Balderdash for stealing the threat title, but Welcome to the cycle certainly sounds nicer

I've put together a little collection of threads to help first time applicants like myself with this daunting process.

2011-12 cycle thread. (Especially Balderdash's introduction)

Profiles and Results, SOPs, and Advice (Fall 2012)

Advice from an actual PhD (redux 2) & Admission Committee Notes

Nuno Monteiro 'Grad School Admissions' http://www.nunomonte...grad-admissions

Personally I'm an international student looking at applying everywhere (apart from Harvard) with the hope of studying International Security/IR Theory :ph34r:

Good luck to everyone.

Thanks for creating the thread! Even though going through the application process again doesn't excite me, I look forward to sharing the experience with the wonderful people of gradcafe. =)

Good idea, I am glad your starting it early.

So where is everyone in the process right now?

Im currently attempting to narrow down my list of schools a little more. Also, im slowly working my way towards studying for the GREs (again) something im not looking forward to :)

Yeah, I'm studying for the GRE again, as well. Figure it can't hurt to boost my score a bit, especially Verbal.

I've mostly reworked my SOP, but I'm sure it'll undergo more changes once I figure out what I'm doing next year.

I also revised my CV/Resume. I'm pretty much ready to reapply and hear back from schools much sooner than reality actually allows. haha

Edit: Oh, and I'm revising my list of schools to include a broader range of rankings; increasing the number of schools I'm applying to in general; and looking for departments that better suit my interests than some of the ones I previously applied to.

Edited by CairoKid