Schools are already making decisions?!?

lucerovespertino

Maybe I'm a newb, but I thought for sure that Ph.D programs didn't make any decisions until March. If anything, I felt a late February response was the best I could hope for. And yet I see toooooons of posts about decisions already up. I haven't heard from any of my 7 schools, and although I keep telling myself that no news is better than bad news, I'm getting increasingly nervous. Does this mean I'm waitlisted? Or do different programs have different deadlines? I've only seen a couple of Ph.D status posts in my field (Education), so maybe they take longer? 

Different fields start sending out admits at different times so don't freak out! This is definitely still early. You can search for the schools and field you applied to on the results search and see if they have sent any news yet, but even if they have it doesn't mean you're out. That will also give you a sense of when you might hear (although, I am sure it varies by year). Just relax and wait, and I hope you hear something soon!

Hey I got the same Problem..I am applying for Electrical Engineering Phd..but I havent been called to an interview. That makes me nervous like hell. Two classmates of my same masters School, aplied last year to EE phd program and they got accepted in Illinois and Berkley, respectively..both told..me they got their first interview Invitation around the 19th January..sop..I guess I am not a first choice..waiting list..star looking something in Europe..?

Yeah... I don't know anyone who has applied to an Education Ph.D, so I have zero timeline references. My friend in Psych got notified in January, as well as my sister when she applied to law. My friend in Anthropology got contacted the first week of February. I've been searching the results from last year, but it seems like not a lot of people in the Education field use TheGradCafe.

Just my luck! Trying to relax is not easy.