Time off between undergrad and grad?

Ilikekitties

Two of my profs are recommending that I take 1-2 years off between undergrad and grad. I'm a senior in undergrad and they recommend that I look into Peace Corps or Americorps. Any suggestions? What kinds of people can make it through the PhD without burnout and without taking time off? I will also be applying to 12 grad programs this fall, so will either of these programs be a reason for a grad program to defer me?

I wonder why they're specifically recommending the Peace Corps or Americorps for you.  What program/major are you applying for? Really, the kinds of people who can make it through PhD without some kind of burnout might not even exist; we all reach a burnout or breaking point in grad school, but it's a matter of whether your passion outweighs those breakdowns/whether those breakdowns aren't too tremendous to keep you from pushing on.

How do YOU feel about continuing on to grad school right after graduating? You also said you're a senior: are you graduating this December, or are you graduating in May?

12 programs is a lot, in that you'd have to write 12 SOPs, get 12 LORs from three profs, etc.  As for your question, what do you mean by grad programs deferring you because of Americorps or Peace Corps? My friend worked for Americorps in undergrad, and, if anything, working for them helped her get some of her application fees waived (which is super handy since they're usually at least $75 a pop).

Best of luck to you! Sorry for having more questions than answers, but I'll be around to keep up the conversation!

I'm not sure why they are recommending PC/AC, mostly AC though. I'm applying for mostly PhD programs in anthropology. I'll be graduating in May.