Options for not getting in?

Hello all. I'm currently realizing that I probably won't get into graduate school this year. I'm just curious what kind of jobs would help revamp my application and how to research these jobs. I'm from a small town in Indiana so any help/advice you have, would be helpful! Thanks in advance! 

Hey I'm from Bloomington Indiana! I have realized that I probably won't get in this year as well. I graduated a year and a half ago and have been rejected for 2 going on 3 application cycles. Since graduating I have worked in ABA and am going to get my masters in ABA if I don't get in to SLP this time around. You should look into it! It has a lot of similarities to the SLP field.

I'm from Jasper Indiana so that's really cool! So do you have a job around Bloomington or did you have to look further into places like Indianapolis? I'm just trying to judge on where I may have to move to find work in ABA or such. I'm also not quite sure on how to go about researching and finding a job like this? Did you have to get any special accreditation to work in ABA (besides possibly getting your masters)? 

Have you asked any of the schools you might reapply to how they suggest you improve your application?  Don't be afraid to be direct - ask specifically about work and volunteer experience they prefer.  Do you have a specialized area of interest in SLP (medical, bilingual, deaf population, autism, early intervention etc)?  If so it would behoove you to find opportunities that would complement your specific interest.  

Some ideas: as previous poster mentioned - ABA, literacy coach/tutor, volunteer in hospital or nursing home, tutor ESL students (esp. if bilingualism is of interest), involvement in camps or special programs for learning disabled (especially in the summer), ask professors about assisting with research, etc..