Hey Guys, 

I remember being in undergrad and sometimes feeling so distant from my peers because I was an international student. Well, here I am again on this voyage about to feel even weirder, this time as a grad student. I thought that we should have a space where we could be able to share experiences, answer questions, give advice, or just a space where you say what makes you feel ok about yourself. Good luck everyone! 

Disclaimer: I worked with International Services during my undergrad but this does not make me an immigration official. Although I can give my opinion on certain situations based on past experience, I recommend contacting your school directly about these questions. 

Edited by Poodle-Doodle

4 hours ago, Poodle-Doodle said:

Hey Guys, 

I remember being in undergrad and sometimes feeling so distant from my peers because I was an international student. Well, here I am again on this voyage about to feel even weirder, this time as a grad student. I thought that we should have a space where we could be able to share experiences, answer questions, give advice, or just a space where you say what makes you feel ok about yourself. Good luck everyone! 

Disclaimer: I worked with International Services during my undergrad but this does not make me an immigration official. Although I can give my opinion on certain situations based on past experience, I recommend contacting your school directly about these questions. 

What a great idea! I too was an international student in undergrad, happy to try and help answer any questions, esp.  on scholarships, student jobs and funding. 

Continue to tell your story @kindaafraid! What you do and who you are has purpose in the world and it will make sense in the right place and right time. Even though I am not Muslim and can never understand what it is like is to be one, I'll continue to support those like you.