Grad school for dummies!

cookderosa

Hello! I am new to the gradcafe and have a few questions. My background- I have a BA in Social Sciences pending conferral. I would like to understand the grad school process a little better. Can someone give me their opinion on the paths of MA vs PhD and also the issue of stipend? Do I understand that some programs provide free tuition and a stipend? Please advise. Thanks!! Jennifer

• 2 weeks later...
Hello! I am new to the gradcafe and have a few questions. My background- I have a BA in Social Sciences pending conferral. I would like to understand the grad school process a little better. Can someone give me their opinion on the paths of MA vs PhD and also the issue of stipend? Do I understand that some programs provide free tuition and a stipend? Please advise. Thanks!! Jennifer

Hi Jennifer,

It looks like nobody had any thoughts. I'm not in the social sciences, but I can tell you how it works for me as an engineer.

Almost all of the programs to which I applied offer some sort of financial support. Usually the deal was, in return for some TA duties, you get tuition and a stipend to live on. The TA duty varies from class to class, some TAs work very hard, others less so. Some give sections/recitations, others grade homeworks. It really depends on the professor.

Another option was RA (research assistant), where a professor takes you on from day one to do some research in his group. There are a few risks with this, since you are tied to the professor and if you don't get along with them and/or your interests change.... you'd be in a predicament.

Finally, if your academics are excellent there are fellowships (either offered by the department/university or external ones). These give you ultimate freedom to take as many classes as you like and get to know exactly what you want to do.

I can't really comment on MA/PhD in your area... I hope someone else can?

Cheers

• 5 weeks later...
  • 3 years later...