Need advice- thinking of leaving graduate school

Luis_981741

Hi,

I'm a second year graduate student at a top university. I'm seeking advice because I am thinking of leaving my graduate program. I started graduate school last year through the chemistry PhD program at my university although I had a background in biology. I did research as an undergraduate and presented a poster at a major conference and did okay in my lab. The reason I wanted to do more chemistry in graduate school is because I liked learning about small molecule synthesis as an undergraduate and wanted to combine both chemistry and biology. I took a gap year between undergrad and grad school and worked at a small biotech start-up. I performed very well there and my boss thought I would perform quite well in graduate school. I even got advice from the CEO about his experience in graduate school and got great letters of recommendation. Coming from a underrepresented minority group background, getting into graduate school meant a huge deal to me and I left the company with great confidence and excitement. However, that quickly changed within my first few months at the university. Having no more organic chemistry background than what was necessary to complete my bachelor's, I was placed in remedial chemistry courses my first quarter while taking additional courses required for everyone in my cohort. I also started TAing my first quarter while trying to find a lab to rotate in. Between juggling classes, TAing, and rotating I quickly crumbled. I was overwhelmed by not performing well in my classes and having little time to do anything in my rotation lab. At the end of my first quarter I was put on probation due to the grades in my classes and on top of that I was unable to find a next rotation. I also got a notice from my department saying that they were not going to be able to fund me anymore since I was supported through a TAship and I could not TA with the GPA I had at the end of my first quarter. Fi